Web design friends - link color question

• Gold Top Dog

Web design friends - link color question

I'm working on re-designing a website for a friend. I have no formal training in web design, I've just figured it out from playing around with Fireworks and Dreamweaver. Anyway, is there a way to make text links on the same page different colors? I have some links that will be on a dark background (nav bar) and some that will be on a light background (throughout copy.)

The only place I can find to specify link color is Modify > Page Properties > Links. I set that as white, but now my links on the light background are hardly visible. I tried to select the links I want dark and change the color, but it doesn't work.

Confused

• Gold Top Dog

You can do this by specifying different color schemes for each div if you're using CSS. Explaining is too complicated adn I suck at teaching CSS because I'm not very good at it, but googling that should get you a start at the explanation you need. :)

• Gold Top Dog

I was hoping it wasn't going to be that complicated. Geeked

Off to Google... If I don't come back for a few hours, send Rupert out to find me.

• Gold Top Dog

omg I think I did it!*toot toot*s my own horn. Stick out tongue

Web design so time consuming! Snail In print, you just set up simple "style sheets" that define all aspects of the text styles, highlight the text you want changed and click the name of the style sheet and it's applied.

• Gold Top Dog

CSS = Cascading Style Sheets. :P Sensible people do webdesign that way, too. Fireworks and Dreamweaver just suck at CSSsssssses.

• Gold Top Dog

Yeah I do it with CSS.  Specifying colors with HTML is no longer "kosher", I think.  A lot of stuff will work, but not pass validation so it depends on whether you just want it to work or to be correct.