Exhausted after grooming

• Gold Top Dog

Exhausted after grooming

I'm just curious.  Is it normal for her to be so completely exhausted after being groomed.  She was only gone about 2 1/2 hours today.  And, she's completely wiped out. 
    • Gold Top Dog
    Is she all worked up while she's being groomed?  Being anxious for that long takes a lot out of ya, could that be it?  Or maybe there was just a lot to watch and do?  I dont know, the first thing that came to mind was just being worked up over it.....  Sammy doesn't have enough fur to get groomed so I guess I'm not really experienced here lol.
    • Gold Top Dog
    Yeah, she does get excited.  She's got people there that she likes to see and there are also other dogs.  It's the only environment where she interacts with other dogs safely.  So, that could be it. 

God, is her life this boring that a little grooming zonks her out?? 
    • Bronze
    Dear Willowchow:

I sy this to anyone of my clients who come to my house to have their dog groomed, alot of times a dog could stress out just like us. how long has she been going to this groomer?  you can e-mail me directly if you would like.

Lisa -  by the way I used to live with someone that bred chows, so i know the breed very well
    • Gold Top Dog
    Well, it's been over two years.  And, she goes at least monthly so she does know them.  But, I'm sure she's a little stressed out there, the other dogs, the loudness of it all. 

I guess this is just her.  She does go for walks several times per day and she does go for rides.  But, this is a little different, she's got to interact there. 

Funny aside---There is one guy that she really likes there named Sean.  Anyway, he told me he told her to "sit" while she was in the tub.  So, she did and also gave him a "free" paw!!  That's a big deal for a dog like her.
    • Gold Top Dog