Is this a pure breed German Shepherd?Answer ASAP please

• Gold Top Dog

Wow!  Those are some funky ears!

From that shot, honestly I can't tell if the pup is purebred or not.  Just to play devils advocate.....you can't show or breed a purebred unless you have papers, which you won't be able to get from the shelter, even if this one is purebred.  Had to get that out of the way as my public service announcement.....just in case.

OK, cocker vs shepherd.  I've owned both and both are wonderful breeds.  Poorly bred, either breed is not so great.  A poorly bred cocker tends to be nervous and nippy, particularly around little kids.  They can have some pretty serious health issues as well.  Ditto a poorly bred gsd, as far as health issues go, but the biggie with gsds to me, is temperment.  This is a LOT of dog and if they don't have a great temperment, they can be one heck of a lot for a newbie owner to handle.  I'm not a newbie owner, but gosh, I might as well have been when we got the first two shepherd pups.  My cockers never ate recliners, sofas, big, expensive stuff......they might have teethed a bit on chairs, but SOFA's??  I was NOT prepared for the amount of damage a bored gsd can do in very short order, and I didn't really know, then, how to keep them mentally active.

So, for someone who doesn't know a lot about dogs, I'd strongly suggest the cocker as a starter dog.  But, do keep in my that the smaller the dog, the more nervous they tend to be in scarey situations.  Your job becomes to make them comfy in all situations by taking them as many places as possible and exposing them to new and different things in a calm and confident manner.

Good luck with this....we'd love to see some pictures of whoever you bring home!

• Gold Top Dog