A good breed for my lifestyle...

• Silver

A good breed for my lifestyle...

Hello, I just joined this forum a couple minutes ago because for the past couple years I have been considering a dog. The only problem is I'm not sure if I'm the type of person who could own a dog. I am not a very active person. As you can tell by my user name I am a musician and spend most of my day composing music. I'm looking for a companion dog instead of a jogging partner dog. The two breeds that I have been considering the most are Dachshunds and Siberian Huskies (an older one from a rescue so that it would need less excercise). In my area we have very warm summers and very cold winters, so I need a dog that could tolerate those extremes. As irresponsible as this may seem, I am looking for a dog that would need the least amount of work. I am aware that no matter what kind of dog I decide on there is a huge commitment involved so I'm not looking for a dog that requires no work. Just a dog that doesn't need grooming every day, 3 hours of excercise a day, etc. I'm not home all the time either. The dog would be at home alone for maybe 10-20 hours a week. I know that a cat would probably be better for me, but I have an allergy that is only triggered by cats so that is out of the question. Oh, and one last thing, my house is in an area where fences are not allowed so I'd need a dog that would be okay with an electric fence. I have a family with a 13 year old in case that makes a difference in what breed. So to sum it all up:

1. Would it even be possible for me to get a dog with my lifestyle?
    2. What type of breed should I get?
    • Gold Top Dog
    WELCOME!!!![sm=welcome2.gif]

How active is you're 13 year old? I can easily take my border collie jogging every day, so if your 13 year old can, then get a more active breed.

There are MULTIPLE  things you have to remember:

Will you provide about 50 dollars a month for a PREMIUM dog food like Solid Gold or Egle Pack, not Purina?