Beagles in blue merle? not...

• Gold Top Dog

Vets aren't really considered experts on breeds. Chance is SUPER cute!!! I'm no Beagle expert, so I'll let the others chime in, but what a handsome boy!

• Gold Top Dog

he's cute - I would say he's a beagle/cattle dog mix. he looks to have more of a ticking pattern, not merle - but it's hard to see in some of the pictures - I could be way off!

• Gold Top Dog

That is not the merle pattern. That's blue tick and I'd wonder if he might have some blue tick coonhound in him. Coloring to me, anyway, looks more like the hound than the beagles with ticking. As someone else as mentioned, vets aren't necessarily experts on breed identifying. Seems to be a lot of different breeds, with this blue merle pattern showing up. All I can say is it is sad that people are so gullible and will spend so much money when they can rescue one of the mixes from a shelter that is a very special dog and a rarity. As far as AKC registered, I don't think that proves anything, when you've got someone that is just in it for the money. If they have 2 purebreds registered, they can use those dogs to get the papers for the pups but still be using a different male to breed. I've heard of instances of people breeding their dog and the dog getting over the fence and breeding with another dog and the pups not being purebred but they still got papers. Those ones did not sell as purebreds because they were obviously different. However when a person has bred the coloring in and bred back to the purebred so that eventually you will get a dog that is quite similar then folks do fall for it and spend big bucks for dogs like these merle beagles.

• Gold Top Dog

your hound is a bluetick...not a merle. Bluetick and redtick are seen often enough in hunting lines..looks very like any bluetick hound that is pictured on a hunting breeder site. HERE IS ONE.