Breed help- Great Dane puppy? or Older mix??

• Silver

Breed help- Great Dane puppy? or Older mix??

I need help on what my new guy is..I rescued him and they said they thought he was a lab mix that was about a year and 3 mos. old- but he looks more like a Great Dane to me- and he's still chewing tons like a puppy---
    any guesses??
    thanks in advance
    Kerri

• Silver
    here are some more pics....

• Gold Top Dog
    He looks like a Lab to me. No Dane from what I see...that face is very Lab. No slab sided or chiseled appearance to the face, no deep muzzle with flews and prominent bone structure.

Why do you think he is a Dane? BIG? Labs can and do get tall and lanky....and some stay squat and wide....weights can go from what 45lbs-100+ and still be all Lab [;)]

Very sweet looking dog, he looks mostly if not all, Lab.
    • Silver
    He's pretty big- with a deep woof woof bark that i usually don't associate with labs- but i'm no expert-
    also his paws are HUGE .. thinking he's still growing- still chews like a puppy at any rate....

• Gold Top Dog
    looks all lab to me too. I don't see any great dane in there. A friend of mine has a lab mix and he has a very deep loud - down in the chest type bark.
    • Gold Top Dog
    How much does he weigh? How tall is he?
    He doesn't look that big from the pics...if he was even only 6 months old....a Great Dane would be 65-100 pounds, and 26"-33" at the shoulder.

That..is...BIG. Most adult AKITAS weigh about 100lbs and are 25-27" at the shoulder.

ETA: Some Labs chew their entire LIVES lol...they are a mouth breed, intended to carry things in their mouths....they like to have something in their mouths [;)]
    • Silver
    He weighs 75 pounds- and is still very skinny- we rescued him from a kill shelter down south---he's 24 " at the shoulders and his paws are 3 " across

that's where the Great Dane thought came in --
    as i said -I'm no expert- just looking for advice....

thanks for all your input--