Help me pick a dog

• Gold Top Dog
    While I agree that researching breeds is wise, there are varieties within each breed. Since your family is new to dog ownership, and since the majority of care (although yes, your parents will help) will fall on a teen, I'd suggest going the foster group route. I'd talk to a veterinarian as to what groups are reputable in the area.  I'm a tech and I can say that we see the dogs come in from the shelter and can see a trend in what kind of animals they tend to adopt out.  Dogs are usually in foster homes long enough to show their personalities, and this will help them to match a dog to your family. 

Puppies are adorable, but they're a ton  of work.  I'm not sure I'll have a puppy again, simply because I remember all too well the work that goes into them. (and I'm reminded daily at work while trying to weigh.draw blood/temp a squirming puppy) I rather like having them arrive in my home past all of that 'head full of mush' stage[:D]

Whatever route you go though, I advise against pet stores. It's common for pet store puppies to have housetraining issues, as they've learned to soil where they eat and sleep.  That, combined with it supporting the puppy mill industry, should be enough to steer one away
    • Silver
    Hm, I read some stuff about separation anxiety for the more sociable dogs the other day.  Would that be a problem in my situation?  My parents work 9-5 and after summer's over my sister will be at school for about that much time also.  I will be at college and hopefully THAT won't cause separation anxiety because I'll be away for at least a week at a time.  Only my grandparents will be home 24/7 and I'm not sure how much they're willing to take care of the dog.  Edit: Nevermind, we will work something out with my grandparents or take the dog to a day care if necessary.
    • Silver