Cooling an overheated dog - advice?

• Moderators
    • Gold Top Dog

3girls
    For walks and such, does anyone have any experience using those cooling bandannas?

I have one, and it's fairly useless, as far as I'm concerned.  For walks, I'd go with a cooling coat, personally, but even that is with the caveat to avoid walks in the heat of the day.

3girls
    Any recommendations for a crate fan? 

Crate fans - eh, I have yet to see any particularly amazing ones (versus another).  One that has multiple speeds is good, and a DC adaptor that allows you to plug it into your vehicle is good.  There's one I wanted for a while that had an insert to place a thing of ice in it, so the fan would blow across the ice, creating cooler air (the way a swamp cooler works), although some say the ice insert doesn't last that long. I guess having your crate out in the sun kinda does that to ice!!  Confused  I saw a reco to store the ice rings in dry ice to keep it colder longer, but I have no experience with that.  

This one (pictured below) is the ProSelect Deluxe, I believe.  What's nice about this one is it has a thermostat that causes the fan to automatically kick on when it reaches a certain temp.  It's battery operated, but has a power cord option, too - I like that kind of versatility and for only about $30, I think it's a decent price: (I just found it at PetEdge for half that price!)

• Gold Top Dog