Am Bulls - Need to Know! :)

• Gold Top Dog

Am Bulls - Need to Know! :)

My soon-to-be neighbor and good friend just adopted a rescue American Bulldog, purebred, sired by a "Grand Champion" from Texas (sad story - mismarked puppies sold to a family who ended up neglecting them severely).

This nine month old female is the most amazing dog.  I'm not a novice dog person - I've seen tons of dogs and I'm not easily surprised.  "Emma" just kept astounding me over and over.

I know it's a breed that is bred for (among other things) family/estate guarding.  In this respect, Emma's got the most perfect instincts I've ever seen.  One DAY ONE with this family she had all the characters sorted out.  She was fetching with the eight year old girl who plays with her.  She was very alert and concerned about the seven year old boy who gets into trouble.  She was gentle with and basically pretended to ignore the timid 4 year old boy. 

And with the 18 month old baby who is hell on wheels, she followed him around and let him get in a sly push or tug of the ear every time his mom wasn't looking.  When he was nursing, she climbed on the couch beside mom, and deliberately put her head under his foot and let him kick her with his other foot.  At another point, she was sitting on the couch and he was standing directly in front of her and the girl threw the toy.  She started to go, then settled back and just watched the girl throw the toy for their rat terrier.  The only way to get out was to run over the baby and she refused to do that.

This is the first home she's been in with children of any kind, by the way - except possibly the breeder.  She is smart, working smart - lots of brain power combined with an eagerness to please and tons of self control.  I apologize to you smooshy face lovers but it's not the kind of braininess something I associate with that kind of face!