Can you tell me about some of the breeds Im interested in?

• Gold Top Dog

Can you tell me about some of the breeds Im interested in?

Im new here. Dont have a dog as of right now. Said goodbye to my 13 year old Dalmatian last year and now think Im ready for a new furkid. I have a few breeds in mind and want to know if anyone owns/owned any of them or give me any info on these breeds. I've been researching for 8 months now but would like some responses from anyone that has shared their lives with these breeds.

German Shorthair Pointer

Vizsla

Irish Setter

Weimaraner

• Gold Top Dog
    Welcome to the forum!

I've worked a little with each of these breeds but haven't own one. It's great you are asking these questions before you get your pup. I don't think I could give you specifics about each but certainly can give some input in helping you find the right breed. Sorry to hear about the loss of your Dalmatian.

I guess you have to start by asking yourself what type of lifestyle you and your dog will share and if you want to start with a puppy or adopt an adult dog. It seems like you really like the sporty type of breeds so there are many similarities in the four you posted, I can see why it's such a difficult choice. The Irish Setter has longer fur and would need a little more grooming. (I personally like long haired breeds just because I feel as if grooming is part of the bonding process.)