Quick Post

Clicker training puppies not to bite

Clicker training puppies not to bite
  • I don't have Lilith home yet (eight more days!), but I have been doing alot of research for a few months now about clicker training and I had a question about a clicker training video I saw online. On another forum I frequent you'll occasionally see people suggest Kikopups videos that are on youtube. So I went to her channel after seeing one of her videos being suggested to a puppy owner and started watching her video on how to "Stop puppies biting" and thought it was brilliant. Sitting and remembering what puppies are like- nipping, chewing etc, I decided if I had a nipping/ play biting issue with Lilith I wanted to try Kikopups method of training a puppy not to bite. Here is her video: Stop puppies biting- clicker dog training . Anyway when I asked the person on the other forum (who had originally suggested kikopup "stop puppies biting video to someone else) what they thought of it and what age they thought I could start teaching it to my puppy, they said they had mixed feelings about it. I don't want to mess up what they said so here is a quote "if you teach them to NEVER put teeth on your skin you may build a pup with NO bite inhibition with humans (he hasn't learned how to SOFTLY use his mouth" . So I decided to write Kikopup and ask her about that and never got a response. So my question to you guys is, do you think its a good thing to teach a puppy not to bite at all or do you think it might cause problems down the road? Thanks Smile

•  No way! Tootsie was taught at the tender age of 10 weeks, that if teeth touch my skin game over. Her being a herder took until about 6 months to register. Now at the age of 6 she knows about the teeth thing and has an incredibly soft mouth.

ETA; Bite inhibition was taught by her dam. I  just reinforced it.