Quick Post

My Dog has nasal congestion??

My Dog has nasal congestion??
  • So my 8 month old shih-peke has been, well, snorting (?).

I think that she just has some phlegm in her throat, but I'm not a doctor so obviously I don't know for sure. It started as a once every 3 or 4 days thing, but over the past few days shes been doing it more consistently.

I'm a first time dog owner (and so glad that I found this site!), and I've made the mistake a few times of going to the vet thinking she was dying, and it turned out to be something minor. So instead of jumping up to drop $50 on a vet visit, I wanted to see if anyone else has had experience with this. And if so, what did you do? I'd appreciate any advice.

Thanks!
    -jessi
  • No sure if you are describing a reverse sneeze where the dogs seems to have difficulty breathing and is gasping for breath.  It is continuous snorting that eventually works itself out.  I had an English Bulldog that did this all the time.  I was adviced to pinch the nose and it will stop, but I never did it. 

If ever I have a health concern for one of my dogs, I GOOGLE the symtoms.  For example on the search line I put "My dog is snorting" and do some reading.  Or, I also call my vet and ask to talk to the vet directly.  One last resort is to call the Emergency Vet during the off hours when normal vet clinics are closed.  I have found them to be very helpful and they do advise whether it is a true emergency, or you should make appointment with your vet, or tell you how to handle the issue yourself.  In the past the Emergency Vet have calmed my nerves many of times.

Your title says nasal congestion.  Any fluid discharge like a runny nose is a serious matter and your vet should be consulted immediately.   You do not want a respiratory problem to turn into pneumonia.