Hawks, birds of prey, and HELP!

• Gold Top Dog

Hawks, birds of prey, and HELP!

So, I'm new to the desert.  I've been here about a month (Reno, NV) and where I live, big backyard, but kind of on the edge of city, right at the foothills of the Sierra.

I took the dogs out today, Nikki, Missy and Logan. Cause they were playing in the house.  So, out in the yard we go, Nikki is zooming around at 90mph.  And she and Logan start wrestling, I happen to be sitting in the grass, soaking up some rays, watching them.  Thank God they were only about 6-8 ft away from me at this point.  Nikki's under Logan.

I see motion out of the corner of my eye, it's a bird.

I, thankfully, decided to look to see what kind of bird.  It's a Hawk.  A HAWK.  Landed on the fence and is intently watching Nikki and Logan. I call Nikki (I've trained her to respond to me even when in panic voice) and she gets up and runs towards me as I immediately stand up... as I stand up the hawk flies away.

She's 12 lbs and ... i know hawks can take dogs.  HOLY CRAP.  I just got lucky I was right and i mean RIGHT there.

HELP!  What do I do?

I am gonna go look for owl statues, and never leave her alone outside, but any other advice?! 

I was a mess for about an hour afterwards.  SO scary.  Any help is appreciated.

• Gold Top Dog

Hawks are in cities too. I am in a med. sized city and a hawk landed on a small dog and hurt it QUICKLY in front of his owner. She finally was able to get the hawk to leave her dog alone. She rushed him to the vet and he was so damaged on his neck that the vet had to put him to sleep. The lady was on the local news. SO sad.

Not much you can do but be right there. I am always there even in my city yard. They do not need to pick the dog up. They can land on them.

• Gold Top Dog

HOLY COW!!!!!!! That's HORRIFYING!  Right in front of her?!